‘Women of the Weeping River’, ‘Paglipay’ lead Urian nominees

June 27, 2017 - 8:00 PM
Scenes from Zig Dulay's 'Paglipay' and Sheron Dayoc's 'Women of the Weeping River.'

Independent films once again make up the majority of this year’s Gawad Urian nominees.

Leading the pack with 11 nominations each are Sheron Dayoc’s “Women of the Weeping River” and Zig Dulay’s “Paglipay” including Best Picture. They will compete against Lav Diaz’s “Ang Babaeng Humayo,” Brillante Mendoza’s “Ma’ Rosa,” and Eduardo Roy, Jr.’s “Pamilya Ordinaryo” which all garnered nine nominations each; and Bagane Fiola’s “Baboy Halas” which earned five nominations.

Seasoned actors and promising newcomers will slug it out in the acting categories. The Best Actress award has the most nominees with 10 led by Nora Aunor for Kristian Cordero’s “Hinulid,” Jaclyn Jose for “Ma’ Rosa,” Charo Santos for “Ang Babaeng Humayo,” Cherry Pie Picache for Paolo Villaluna’s “Pauwi Na,” Ai Ai delas Alas for Louie Ignacio’s “Area,” and Elizabeth Oropesa for Adolfo Alix, Jr.’s “MRS.”

Star for All Seasons Vilma Santos, who was praised for her performance in Joyce Bernal’s “Everything About Her,” was not nominated but will be honored with a Natatanging Gawad Urian lifetime achievement award.

Expected to be frontrunners among the seven nominees for Best Actor are Paolo Ballesteros for Jun Robles Lana’s “Die Beautiful,” Bembol Roco for “Pauwi Na,” Khalil Ramos for “2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten” and Pinoy Rock icon Pepe Smith for “Singing in Graveyards.”

John Lloyd Cruz and Nonie Buencamino both got Best Supporting Actor nominations for “Ang Babaeng Humayo.” They are up against Julio Diaz of “Ma’ Rosa” and Christian Bables of “Die Beautiful.”

The Best Supporting Actress category has the second most nominees with nine led by Lotlot de Leon for “MRS,” Rhed Bustamante for “Seklusyon,” Barbie Forteza for “Tuos,” Anna Luna for “Paglipay” and Meryll Soriano for “Pauwi Na.”

Here are the complete nominees:

Charo Santos in ‘Ang Babaeng Humayo’, Jaclyn Jose in ‘Ma’ Rosa’ and Hasmine Killip in ‘Pamilya Ordinaryo.’

“Ang Babaeng Humayo”
“Baboy Halas”
“Ma’ Rosa”
“Pamilya Ordinaryo”
“Women of the Weeping River”

Avid Liongoren, “Saving Sally”
Bagane Fiola, “Baboy Halas”
Brilliante Mendoza, “Ma’ Rosa”
Eduardo W. Roy, Jr., “Pamilya Ordinaryo”
Lav Diaz, “Ang Babaeng Humayo”
Lemuel Lorca, “Ned’s Project”
Paolo Villaluna, “Pauwi Na”
Sheron Dayoc, “Women of the Weeping River”
Zig Madamba Dulay, “Paglipay”

Bembol Roco, “Pauwi Na”
Garry Cabalic, “Paglipay”
Khalil Ramos, “2 Cool 2 Be 4gotten”
Paolo Ballesteros, “Die Beautiful”
Pepe Smith, “Singing in Graveyards”
Ronwald Martin, “Pamilya Ordinaryo”
Tommy Abuel, “Dagsin”

Angeli Bayani, “Ned’s Project”
Ai Ai delas Alas, “Area”
Charo Santos, “Ang Babaeng Humayo”
Cherry Pie Picache, “Pauwi Na”
Elizabeth Oropesa, “MRS”
Irma Adlawan, “ORO”
Jaclyn Jose, “Ma’Rosa”
Hasmine Kilip, “Pamilya Ordinaryo”
Laila Ulao, “Women of the Weeping River”
Nora Aunor, “Hinulid”

Christian Bables, “Die Beautiful”
Jess Mendoza, “Hinulid”
John Lloyd Cruz, “Ang Babaeng Humayo”
Nonie Buencamino, “Ang Babaeng Humayo”
Julio Diaz, “Ma Rosa”
Taha Daranda, “Women of the Weeping River”

Anna Luna, “Paglipay”
Barbie Forteza, “Tuos”
Janine Gutierrez, “Dagsin”
Joan Dela Cruz, “Paglipay”
Lui Manansala, “Ned’s Project”
Lotlot de Leon, “MRS”
Meryll Soriano, “Pauwi Na”
Rhed Bustamante, “Seklusyon”
Sharifa Pearlsia Ali-Dans, “Women of the Weeping River”

“Ang Babaeng Humayo,” Lav Diaz
“Ma’Rosa,” Troy Espiritu
“Ned’s Project,” Lemuel Lorca, John Paul Bedia
“Pauwi Na,” Paolo Villaluna, Ellen Ramos
“Paglipay,” Zig Madamba Dulay
“Patay na si Jesus,” Fatrick Tabada
“Pamilya Ordinaryo,” Eduardo Roy, Jr.
“Women of the Weeping River,” Sheron Dayoc

“Ang Babaeng Humayo,” Lav Diaz
“Baboy Halas,” Raphael Meting, Mark Limbaga
“Ma Rosa,” Odyssey Flores
“Paglipay,” Albert Banzon
“Pamilya Ordinaryo,” Albert Banzon
“Tuos,” Mycko David
“Women of the Weeping River,” Rommel Sales

“Baboy Halas,” Joel Geolamen
“Die Beautiful,” Angel Diesta
“Hinulid,” Ryan Cuatrona, Celine Belino
“Ma Rosa,” Dante Mendoza
“Ned’s Project,” John Paul Sapitula
“Paglipay,” Aped Santos
“Pamilya Ordinaryo,” Harley Alcasid
“Saving Sally,” Erik Manalo, Rommel Laquian
“Women of the Weeping River,” Harley Alcasid

“Ang Babaeng Humayo,” Lav Diaz
“Die Beautiful,” Benjamin Gonzales Tolentino
“Ma Rosa,” Diego Marx Dobles
“Pauwi Na,” Ellen Ramo, Paolo Villaluna
“Paglipay,” Zig Madamba Dulay
“Pamilya Ordinaryo,” Carlo Francisco Manatad
“Women of the Weeping River,” Carlo Francisco Manatad

“Paglipay,” Gian Gianan
“Pauwi Na,” Pike Ramirez, Paolo Villaluna, Veena Ramirez
“Saving Sally,” Pablo Pico
“Tuos,” Jema Pamintuan
“Women of the Weeping River,” Kit Mendoza

“Ang Babaeng Humayo,” Corinne De San Jose, Mark Locsin, Che Villanueva
“Baboy Halas,” Willie Apa, Jr., Charlie Daclan
“Hinulid,” Mark Laccay
“Ma Rosa,” Albert Michael Idioma
“Paglipay,” Andrew Milallos
“Pamilya Ordinaryo,” Albert Michael Idioma, Emmanuel Verona
“Women of the Weeping River,” Albert Michael Idioma, Immanuel Verona