June Mar Fajardo stamps PBA dominance with 4th straight MVP

October 20, 2017 - 8:11 PM
PBA Media Bureau

June Mar Fajardo made history after becoming the first player to win four straight MVP awards as his feat bannered the 2017 PBA Leo Awards on Friday night.

Fajardo was the runaway winner for the league’s top individual plum, edging San Miguel teammates Chris Ross, who bagged the Most Improved Player trophy, and Alex Cabagnot for the award.

Apart from “The Kraken”, PBA legends Ramon Fernandez and Alvin Patrimonio were the only other players in league history who own four MVPs.

Joining Fajardo, Ross and Cabagnot in the Mythical Five are their teammate Arwind Santos and Barangay Ginebra’s Japeth Aguilar.

TNT star Jayson Castro led the Mythical Second Team which is also comprised of Ginebra’s LA Tenorio, Meralco’s Cliff Hodge, Ginebra’s Joe Devance and TNT’s Kelly Williams.

TNT’s RR Pogoy was named Rookie of the Year, beating Phoenix’ Matthew Wright.

Rain or Shine’s Gabe Norwood won the Sportsmanship award.