No surprise as Standhardinger, Ravena go 1-2 in PBA Rookie Draft

October 29, 2017 - 6:29 PM
PBA Media Bureau

There were no big surprises in the 2017 PBA Rookie Draft as top prospects Christian Standhardinger and Kiefer Ravena went to the San Miguel Beermen and the NLEX Road Warriors in the annual event on Sunday at Robinsons Manila.

Standhardinger was selected with the top pick by the Beermen to team up with four-time MVP June Mar Fajardo and form San Miguel’s own version of twin towers.

San Miguel stirred controversy in the days before the draft as it was able to nab the No.1 pick from Kia Picanto in exchange of rarely used players via a lopsided trade.

Ravena meanwhile joined the Road Warriors after being picked second. With the former UAAP MVP now on board, NLEX coach Yeng Guiao now has to think of ways how he will integrate Ravena into his squad which already has plenty of ballhandlers in Carlo Lastimosa, Kevin Alas and Alex Mallari.

The Blackwater Elite chose big man Raymar Jose with the No.3 pick, while the Phoenix Fuel Masters landed former La Salle wingman Jason Perkins with the fourth pick.

The Alaska Aces got arguably the biggest steal of the draft in ex-Green Archers star Jeron Teng at No.5.

Here’s the rest of the first round picks:

6. GlobalPort – Robbie Herndon
7. Rain or Shine – Rey Nambatac
8. Phoenix – Sydney Onwubere
9. Star – Lervin Flores
10. TNT – Mac Tallo
11. TNT – Jon Gabriel
12. Ginebra – Jett Manuel

Second round:

1. NLEX – John Grospe
2. Star – Joseph Gabayni
3. Blackwater – Renz Palma
4. Star – Julian Sargent
5. SMB – Louie Vigil
6. Alaska – Davon Potts
7. Rain or Shine – Jomari Sollano
8. Star – Gwyne Capacio
9. Phoenix – Jayson Grimaldo
10. TNT – Monbert Arong
11. Phoenix – Wilson Baltazar
12. GlobalPort – Andreas Cahilig

Third round:

1. Kia – Christian De Chavez
2. NLEX – Gab Dagangon
3. Blackwater – Ebrahim Enguio
4. Phoenix – Dan Sara
5. GlobalPort – Zach Nicholls
6. Alaska – Pass
7. Rain or Shine – Michael Vincent Juico
8. Meralco – Jebb Bulawan
9. Star – Thomas Torres
10. TNT – Dave Moralde
11. SMB – Jerome Ortega
12. Ginebra – Elmer Cabahug