SMB crowned Commissioner’s Cup champions

July 2, 2017 - 10:23 PM
Photo by Ver Marquez

The San Miguel Beermen routed TNT KaTropa in Game Six, 115-91, to capture the Oppo PBA Commissioner’s Cup championship on Sunday night at SMART-Araneta Coliseum.

It was the Beermen’s second straight title this season after winning the Philippine Cup last conference. They are now within reach of a historic Grand Slam–a three-title sweep in one season–which was achieved by only five teams that include San Miguel in 1989.

Alex Cabagnot was hailed as the Finals MVP after a triple-double performance in the title-clinching game. He scored 19 points, 12 rebounds and 11 assists in Game Six to become the first local player since Willie Miller to notch a triple-double in a finals game.

“The Crunchman” averaged 20.3 points, 8.0 rebounds, 5.8 assists and 1.3 steals in the finals.

Charles Rhodes scored 30 points and 11 rebounds to lead the Beermen who led by as many as 29 points after pulling away in the second quarter.

Marcio Lassiter nailed 24 markers, while Arwind Santos and Chris Ross chipped in 14 and 17 points, respectively.

Reigning three-peat MVP June Mar Fajardo only had two points but that hardly mattered for San Miguel.