13 provinces in Visayas, Mindanao under Signal No. 1 amid ‘Basyang’

February 12, 2018 - 7:03 AM
Fie photo from Pagasa

MANILa, Philippines — Thirteen provinces in Visayas and Mindanao have been placed by the
Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (Pagasa) under Storm Signal No. 1 on Monday, February 12, as “Basyang” maintained its strength.

As of 4 a.m., Pagasa said the tropical storm was seen 690 kilometers east of Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur with maximum sustained winds of 65 kilometers per hour near the center, gustiness of up to 80 km/h, and a speed of 25 km/hr.

Basyang is expected to make landfall in the Caraga Region on Tuesday, February 13, according to the state weather bureau. It is expected to stay within the Philippine Area of Responsibility until Feb. 15 or early morning of Feb. 16.

The storm is expected to make landfall in Caraga Region on Tuesday, Feb. 13, before crossing the southern part of Visayas and the northern part of Mindanao on Wednesday, Feb. 14.

Two provinces in the Visayas and 11 provinces in Mindanao have been placed under Storm Signal No. 1. These are:

1. Southern Leyte

2. Bohol

3. Surigao del Norte

4. Surigao del Sur

5. Agusan del Norte

6. Agusan del Sur

7. Camiguin

8. Compostela Valley

9. Davao Oriental

10. Davao del Norte

11. Misamis Oriental

12. Lanao del Sur

13. Bukidnon