112 villages around Mayon in peril of rainy season lahar flows – DENR

March 10, 2018 - 9:33 AM
Rockfalls and boulders spewed from the crater block the road in this village in Daraga, Albay. Photographed by Jenny Rose Dongon, News5

LEGAZPI CITY — At least 112 villages around the slope of Mayon Volcano in Albay could be struck by lahar flows with the onset of the rainy season comes, an official of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources said.

Josie Columna, DNER-5 survey and mapping division chief, said the villages in six municipalities and three cities were identified in the survey they undertook with the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology and the Mines and Geosciences Bureau.

Tabaco City has the most threatened villages, with 28. Camalig and Guinobatan have 14 each; Daraga, 13; Legazpi City, 12; Ligao City, 9; Sto. Domingo, 8; and Malilipot and Bacacay, 7 each.