Qatar bans arrivals from Philippines, 13 other countries over coronavirus fears

March 9, 2020 - 10:39 AM
People wear face masks upon their arrival at Beijing Capital Airport, as the country is hit by an outbreak of the novel coronavirus, in Beijing, China, March 4, 2020. (Reuters/Thomas Peter)

CAIRO— Qatar has temporarily barred travelers from 14 countries from March 9 as a precaution against the rapidly spreading coronavirus, the government announced on Sunday.

The ban covers China, Egypt, India, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Syria and Thailand.

Qatar Airways had already suspended flights to and from Italy.

Qatar reported three more cases of the virus on Sunday, bringing the total there to 15. —Reporting by Ghaida Ghantous and Samar Hassan; Editing by Kevin Liffey