‘Ang Larawan,’ ‘Siargao’ lead MMFF honor roll

December 28, 2017 - 11:33 AM
Winners of the Metro Manila Film Festival pose on stage with Metro Manila Development Authority chair and overall festival chairman Danilo Lim at the Kia Theatre on Wednesday. (Photo by Yummie Dingding/InterAksyon)

The film adaptation of the acclaimed musical based on the literary play by the late, great Nick Joaquin won six awards including Best Picture in the Metro Manila Film Festival “Gabi ng Parangal” awards night held Wednesday at the Kia Theatre.

“Ang Larawan,” a musical drama set in pre-war Manila, also took home the trophies for Best Actress for Joanna Ampil, Best Musical Score for Ryan Cayabyab, Best Production Design for Nicanor Dante, the Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award and a posthumous Special Jury Prize award for Nick Joaquin in recognition of his play “A Portrait of the Artist as Filipino” which served as the film’s source material.

“Siargao,” a romantic drama set against the backdrop of one of the country’s popular tourist destinations, was adjudged 2nd Best Picture and won Best Director for Paul Soriano, Best Supporting Actress for Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Best Editor for Mark Victor, Best Cinematography for Odyssey Flores, Gaps Sabuero, and Max Abasolo, Best Sound for Mark Locsin, Mikko Quizon, Jason Conanan, and Kat Salinas and Best Original Theme Song for “Alon” by the group Hale.

Another romantic drama, this time set mostly in Taiwan, “All of You” won 3rd Best Picture as well as Best Actor for Derek Ramsay and Best Screenplay for Carl Chavez, Dan Villegas, and Mae Chua.

MMFF 2017 awardees (clockwise): Best Actor Derek Ramsay, Best Actress Joanna Ampil, Best Supporting Actor Edgar Allan Guzman, Best Supporting Actress Jasmine Curtis-Smith, Best Director Paul Soriano, ‘Ang Larawan’ producers Celeste Legaspi and Rachel Alejandro. (Photos by Yummie Dingding/InterAksyon)

Also winning big is “Ang Panday,” Coco Martin’s directorial debut as Rodel Nacianceno and a next-generation reboot of the film franchise that starred the late Fernando Poe, Jr. based on the serialized komiks novel by Carlo J. Caparas.

“Ang Panday” won the Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award, the Children’s Choice award, Special Jury Prize for Coco Martin and Best Visual Effects.

The gay black comedy “Deadma Walking” won Best Supporting Actor for Edgar Allan Guzman and Best Float. The superhero parody “Gandarrapiddo: The Revenger Squad” won the People’s Choice award for Full-Length Film, while the family comedy “Meant to Beh” rounded up the rest of the winners with the award for Best Child Performer for Baste.

Derek Ramsay of “All of You” and Erich Gonzales of “Siargao” were also adjudged as the Scratch It! Male and Female Stars of the Night.

In the short film category, “Anong Nangyari kay Nicanor Dante” by Brian Spencer Reyes won Best Short Film while “Noel” by Win Gonzales won the People’s Choice award.

National Artist Bienvenido Lumbera, who chaired this year’s selection committee was also honored with a special award.

This year’s awards ceremonies were hosted by Paolo Bediones and beauty queens Cindy Miranda and Kylie Verzosa.

MMFF Gabi ng Parangal hosts Cindy Miranda, Paolo Bediones and Kylie Verzosa. (Photo by Yummie Dingding/InterAksyon)