House picks replacements for GMA, Vilma

August 9, 2017 - 7:13 PM

MANILA, Philippines – The House of Representatives has installed new leaders of committees and a deputy speaker.

Bulacan Representative Linabelle Ruth Villarica was announced as deputy speaker replacing Pampanga Rep. Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo.

The post vacated by Villarica as chairperson of the foreign affairs committee was given to Isabela Rep. Ana Cristina Go.

Batangas Rep. Vilma Santos-Recto was replaced as chairperson of the civil service committee by fellow Batangas Rep. Mario Vittorio Marino.

Macapagal-Arroyo and Santos-Recto were earlier removed from their respective posts after voting against the death penalty bill.